The late Duncan M. Fitchet, the designer and first publisher of the Old Green Map, was an internationally recognized professional mapmaker for more than 40 years. A Massachusetts native and a graduate in Geography from Dartmouth, he later co-founded and was U.S. representative and vice president of the International Cartographic Association.
As a senior executive for Rand-McNally and later R.R. Donnelley, Dunc received numerous awards and citations for his contributions to the advancement of cartography.
Dunc's attachment to Lake Winnipesaukee began in 1936, when he and his older brother Seth attended Camp Idlewild, on Cow Island. In 1938, their father, a Boston physician, acquired island property on the big lake and built a modest camp for his family. From 1938 to the present, Dr. Fitchet's descendants have gathered there every year.
In 1967 Dunc published his first New Hampshire Lakes Region navigation chart, the precursor of the charts used today by thousands of boaters on Lake Winni, as well as on Newfound, Ossipee, and Winnisquam lakes.
Dunc retired to New Hampshire with his wife and children in the early 70s, to be near the Lake he had loved since childhood. Dunc continued to make maps during retirement, for the National Park Service and, of course, for his neighbors in the Lakes Region.
In 1979 the New England Marine Trades Association presented Dunc with the Safe Boating Award for his unique contribution to the welfare of the boating residents and visitors in our region.
After Duncan Fitchet died in 1992, his widow and his son, Duncan Fitchet, Jr., carried on the work he had begun more than a quarter century before.
In 1998, Duncan Press, Inc., named in Dunc's honor, acquired the rights to the Old Green Map and the other maps Dunc designed. The president of Duncan Press, Sally Fichet, is Duncan's niece and a lifelong summer resident of Lake Winni.